Thursday, June 30, 2022
HomePoliticsLagos East Senatorial Bye-Election: Tokunbo Abiru Of APC Defeats PDP's Gbadamosi

Lagos East Senatorial Bye-Election: Tokunbo Abiru Of APC Defeats PDP’s Gbadamosi

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Tokunbo Abiru, has emerged victorious in the Lagos East senatorial bye-election conducted in the state on Saturday.
The Independent National Electoral Commission announced that Abiru obtained a total of 89,204 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Gbadamosi secured a total of 11,257 votes to emerge second.
Abiru won in all the five local government areas in the senatorial district.
Candidates from 12 political parties contested the Lagos East Senatorial bye-elections while eight candidates contested the Kosofe Constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly by-elections.

The contestants for the senatorial election are Muyiwa Adebanjo, Action Alliance; Ms Mercy Adeoye, African Action Congress, and John Kome, African Democratic Congress.
Others are Adebowale Ogunlaru, Action Democratic Party; Adetokunbo Abiru, All Progressives Congress; Olusola Babatope, Allied Peoples Movement; Mrs Florence Trautman, Labour Party; and Ms Adijat Lawal, New Nigeria Peoples Party.
They also include Babatunde Gbadamosi, Peoples Democratic Party; Akin Olukunle, National Rescue Movement; Saheed Aluko, Social Democratic Party and Taiwo Temitope, Young Progressive Party.
The eight contestants for the Kosofe Constituency II bye-election are John Akerele, AA; Sadiq Olawale, AAC; Wasiu Saheed, APC; Adekunle Oladapo, LP; Muyideen Agoro, NNPP; Ademorin Adelaja, NRM; Sikiru Alebiosu, PDP and Mrs Mary Abojeh, ADC.
The two bye-elections became necessary following the demise of the former occupants who were members of APC.
See results in the five LGAs as reported by Punch newspapers.
APC: 17,728
PDP: 2,067
APC: 22,213
PDP: 1,826
Ibeju Lekki
APC: 16,336
PDP: 937
APC: 19,204
PDP: 3,766
APC: 13,723
PDP: 2,661



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: